School Council is a vital organisation, ensuring Heathmont College is governed responsibly for the current as well as future generations of students.

In 2017-2018 the School Council committee is:

School Council President – Daryl Perry

Executive Officer– Johanna Walker (Principal)

Parent Representatives:

  • Daryl Perry – President
  • Tim Neve
  • Sally Phillips – Vice President
  • Angela Cullen
  • Simon Green
  • Nicola Mackey

Staff Representatives

  • Edwina Ricci
  • Nina Ling
  • Mathew Steen
  • Johanna Walker – Executive Officer

Student Representatives

  • Ava Ker
  • Conor Sticht

Co-opted members:

  • Nina Ling
  • Nicola Mackey

There are three possible categories of membership:

  • A mandated elected parent category. More than one third of the total members must be from this category. Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (DEECD) employees can be parent members at their child’s school.
  • A mandated elected DEECD employee category. Members of this category may make up no more than one third of the total membership of school council. The principal of the school is automatically one of these members.
  • An optional community member category. Its members are coopted by a decision of the council because of their special skills, interests or experiences. DEECD employees are not eligible to be community members.

The term of office for members is two years. Half the members must retire each year and this creates vacancies for the annual school council elections.

We meet as a Council once a month, usually at 7.30pm on the fourth Tuesday of each month.

There are four Parent positions.

Parents on school councils provide important viewpoints and have valuable skills that can help shape the direction of the school.

Those parents who become active on a school council often find their involvement satisfying in itself and may also find that their children feel a greater sense of belonging.

In February each year nomination papers are available from the General Office for School Council.